It is expected that Apprentices following this framework will take between 12 and 18 months to complete.

Each Apprentice is required to achieve the following Qualification:
Pathway 1: SVQ Level 2 Healthcare Support (Clinical) at SCQF level 6 + Core Skills
Pathway 2: SVQ Level 2 Healthcare Support (Non-Clinical) at SCQF level 6 + Core Skills

To achieve the SVQ Level 2 Healthcare Support (Clinical) at SCQF Level 6, learners must complete a minimum of six units, three mandatory, and three or more units from the list of optional units in one of the two pathways.

Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs) are work-based qualifications, which are based on National Occupational Standards of competence drawn up by representatives from each industry sector. SVQs are made up of units – normally between six and ten – which break a job down into separate functions reflecting the different kinds of activities of a job. SVQs are available at five levels – although most are at level 2 and level 3. When someone has achieved an SVQ, there is a guarantee that they have the skills and knowledge needed to do their job. All Scottish Modern Apprenticeships must contain a relevant SVQ (or NVQ) or equivalent qualification.

  • Each Apprentice is required to achieve the following Core Skills:
  • Communication F426 04 SCQF Level 4
  • Working with others F42N 04 SCQF Level 4
  • Problem Solving F425 04 SCQF Level 4
  • Information and
  • Communication Technology F42E 04 SCQF Level 4
  • Numeracy F42A 04 SCQF Level 4

Core Skills are skills and abilities which everyone needs in their work. This is true for every job in every workplace. Core Skills also feature in National Qualifications such as Standard Grades and Highers and from 2000, Scottish candidates have been issued with a Core Skills profile on their Scottish Qualifications Certificate. Candidates who have already been certificated as achieving Core Skills at the levels given above – either in the workplace or at school or college - do not need to repeat these Core Skills as part of the Modern Apprenticeship Framework.

The full framework can be read here.